Mangum brings home the Ferriss Trophy for Mississippi State (for second time)

Published 3:23 pm Monday, May 20, 2019

Mississippi State’s Jake Mangum won the Ferriss Trophy on Monday after a dominant regular season at the top of the Bulldogs’ lineup.

Mangum also won the Ferriss as a freshman in 2016. The trophy is awarded to the top college baseball player in Mississippi.

Mangum is the SEC’s all-time hits leader with 370 in his four-year career. The senior is batting .375 this season with 20 doubles, 21 stolen bases and 18 strikeouts in 253 at-bats.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

His play has helped the Bulldogs to a 45-11 record this year, including a 20-10 mark in the SEC. The Bulldogs will be the No. 4 seed in the SEC Tournament that begins Tuesday in Hoover, Alabama.

The other finalists for the award were Southern Mississippi outfielder Matt Wallner, Ole Miss third baseman Tyler Keenan, Ole Miss shortstop Grae Kessinger and Mississippi State pitcher Ethan Small.