Mississippi PTK chapter takes home top honors at international convention

Published 10:48 pm Sunday, April 14, 2024

The Eta Omega Chapter of PTK was recently honored among the top 100 chapters in the nation. PTK officers and advisors from left, Reagan Newman of Wesson, advisor Mary Warren, Haley McCullough of Loyd Star, Annie Sheppard of Brookhaven, Kortne Nelson of Brookhaven, Colton Fuqua of Houlka, Briar Hamilton of Summit, Destiny Brown of New Hebron, Trey Knott of Bogue Chitto, advisor Amber Bowman, and Clifton Jernigan of Eupora.

The Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) on Copiah-Lincoln Community College’s Wesson Campus recently traveled to Orlando, Florida for the Catalyst International PTK Convention. Out of almost 1,300 PTK chapters across the nation, the Eta Omega Chapter was named a Top 100 chapter, and was one of only 34 chapters recognized as Most Distinguished Chapter.

Additionally, Co-Lin freshman and incoming Eta Omega Chapter President Clifton Jernigan of Eupora was honored with the Distinguished Chapter Member award, sophomore Kortne Nelson of Brookhaven was recognized as a Coca-Cola Silver Scholar, advisor Mary Warren received the Continued Excellence Advisor Award, and Co-Lin President Dr. Dewayne Middleton received the Paragon President Award.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for two-year colleges. Memberships into PTK is by invitation only to outstanding students who excel academically and in leadership and community service.