18 Mississippi schools on probation (complete list)

Published 6:38 am Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Mississippi’s School Accreditation Commission didn’t strip Jackson schools of its accreditation. It’s asking Gov. Phil Bryant to do that.

But the state education board put Jackson on a list of Mississippi schools on probation for breaking rules including teachers without proper licenses. Now, Jackson schools will have to wait for Bryant to make the decision on whether he will declare an emergency or the 27,000-student district, which would allow a state takeover, or not.

Bryant has said he wants to wait until the Jackson school district’s letter grade is released. That is likely to happen late this week, perhaps Thursday.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Jackson schools are the state’s second-largest, with a $206 million budget and 4,000 staff members for 58 schools. Both the accreditation commission and the state board of education have suggested that Jackson schools will receive an “F” letter grade, with as many as half of its schools failing.

Here is the complete list of Mississippi’s 18 school districts put on probation for breaking state accrediting rules:

— Calhoun County

— Coahoma Agricultural High School

— Coahoma County

— Durant

— Hazlehurst

— Humphreys County

— Jackson

— Jefferson County

— Kemper County

— Leake County

— Leland

— McComb

— Natchez-Adams

— North Bolivar

— Wayne County

— West Bolivar

— Yazoo City

— Yazoo County